rlh   img   mp3   nfo   pro  
./img/destination/Estados Unidos Mexicanos/Baja California/
Baja California (/ˈbaxa kaliˈfornja), officially Free and Sovereign 
State of Baja California (Spanish: Estado Libre y Soberano de Baja 
California), is a state in Mexico. It is the northernmost and 
westernmost of the 31 states which, with the Federal District, comprise 
the 32 Federal Entities of Mexico. Before becoming a state in 1953, the 
area was known as the North Territory of Baja California (El Territorio 
Norte de Baja California). It has an area of 70,113 km2 (27,071 sq mi), 
or 3.57% of the land mass of Mexico and comprises the northern half of 
the Baja California Peninsula, north of the 28th parallel, plus oceanic 
Guadalupe Island. The mainland portion of the state is bordered on the 
west by the Pacific Ocean, on the east by Sonora, the U.S. State of 
Arizona, and the Gulf of California (also known as the "Sea of Cortez"), 
and on the south by Baja California Sur. Its northern limit is the U.S. 
state of California.